Thursday, April 21, 2011

Caribou - Vibration Ensemble (FREE Live Album)

Canadian psych rockers - Caribou have just released a free live album Vibration Ensemble over at Soundcloud.  Vibration Ensemble was recorded in 2009 during a period where Caribou's numbers included Sun Ra Arkestra bandleader Marshall Allen, Four Tet mastermind Kieran Hebden, Koushik, Born Ruffians' Luke Lalonde, five horn players, and four drummers-- a total of 15 people. 

Initially this was only available as a limited edition double-vinyl set, credited to "Caribou Vibration Ensemble Featuring Marshall Allen", and came with a DVD of the show and the ridiculously great cover art you see above. It was only to be available at Caribou shows, not at record stores.

But just this week Dan Snaith said this on twitter about the live album “we’ve decided to give out mp3s of the Caribou Vibration Ensemble record for free”. This is a nice little gesture by the band and shows their love for the music and carries that over to the fans. You can pick up the whole album over at Soundcloud where the band has uploaded the songs and made them available for free.

Vibration Ensemble Tracklist:
01. A Final Warning (09:43)
02. Barnowl (10:40)
03. Brahminy Kite (05:29)
04. Every Time She Turns Round It’s Her Birthday (08:48)
05. Hendrix With Ko (04:31)
06. Melody Day (05:20)
07. Sandy (04:25)
08. Skunks (06:18)

Here is Melody Day from soundcloud for the rest of the album go here
Melody Day by Caribouband

No comments:

Post a Comment