Thursday, August 11, 2011

Bright Eyes and Wild Nothing - Twilight Concert Series - Preview

Bright Eyes eagerly awaited eighth studio album "The People's Key", was released February 15, 2011 as a followup to their accomplished "Cassadaga." After 2006 with the bands rotating cast, the band has settled with Connor Oberst, Mike Mogis and Nathaniel Walcott. Over the past few years, Oberst spent most of his time touring with the Mystic Valley Band, as well as the indie supergroup Monsters of Folk. Now back with their new album The People's key, an artfully arranged and accomplished album, Bright Eyes will take the stage in Pioneer Park tonight as part of the 2011 Twilight Concert Series. Check back tomorrow for a review of the show.

The Peoples Key

1. "Firewall"
2. "Shell Games"
3. "Jejune Stars"
4. "Approximate Sunlight"
5. "Haile Selassie"
6. "A Machine Spiritual (In the People's Key)"
7. "Triple Spiral"
8. "Beginner's Mind"
9. "Ladder Song"
10. "One for You, One for Me"

Bright Eyes - Shell Games from bright eyes on Vimeo.

Wild Nothing, opening for Bright Eyes, is a one man indie pop band created by Jack Tatum in 2009. His demos gathered the attention around various indie circles with a cover of Kate Bush's "Cloudbursting." He signed with Captured Tracks record label due to the success of the demo tapes. "Summer Holiday" and "Cloudbursting" were the first singles followed by the the release of Wild Nothing's debut LP "Gemini in 2010. The album was ranked 49th best album of 2010 by Pitchfork and 36th best album by music editors.


1. "Live In Dreams"
2. "Summer Holiday"
3. "Drifter"
4. "Pessimist"
5. "O Lilac"
6. "Bored Games"
7. "Confirmation"
8. "My Angel Lonely"
9. "The Witching Hour"
10. "Chinatown"
11. "Our Composition Book"
12. "Gemini"

No comments:

Post a Comment