Tuesday, September 13, 2011

The Subways - Money And Celebrity ALBUM STREAM

NME has the full album stream of The Subways third release 'Money and Celebrity'. Money and Celebrity is produced by Stephen Street (worked with Blur and The Smiths), and the album will be released next week September 20th. Taking from The Subways official website this is what Billy has to say about the new album...

“I was recording in the front room of my flat, getting up in the middle of the night to record vocal and guitar parts or sitting in front of the TV with my acoustic guitar and picking up on things that both excited and annoyed me: the circus of the celebrity rise and breakdown, love and loneliness, partying hard (sometimes too hard!), big money and the impact the financial crisis is having on us all ” This writing inspired much of the album with tracks like, soon to be teenage anthem, “We Don’t Need Money To Have A Good Time” written as a tonic to this crisis. And melodic album centrepiece ‘Popdeath’, a comment on the fast turn over of TV show generated celebrity.

The band admits writing and rejecting fifty or more songs before settling on twelve self recorded demos to send to their first choice producer Stephen Street. Billy comments that “Stephen liked our demo tracks so much that he ended up using them as a template for the main recording, even using some guitar and vocal parts from the home demos in the final mixes”

Money And Celebrity Tracklisting:
01. It's A Party
02. We Don't Need Money To Have A Good Time
03. Celebrity
04. I Wanna Dance With You
05. Popdeath
06. Like I Love You
07. Money
08. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
09. Down Our Street
10. Rumour
11. Friday
12. Leave My Side

Here is 'We Don't Need Money To Have A Good Time' - Secret Sessions Video

The Subways - It's A Party by barrygruff

No comments:

Post a Comment